This is the "Home" page of the "Agriculture Science for Mr. Rhyne" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Agriculture Science for Mr. Rhyne  

Last Updated: Jan 18, 2017 URL: http://schs.humbleisd.libguides.com/Agriculture Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Assignment Guidelines

  1. Choose two species of animal from this list: cattle, goats, horses,poultry, sheep, swine.
  2. Research the3 comon breeding methods of your selected animals.
  3. Find information about the tools used in breeding and the role of farm/ranch workers in breeding.
  4. Take notes.
  5. Write a report companing and contrasting the breeding methods of the selected animals.

                                                        

     

    Scientific Discussions of Breeding Methods

    -----
     

    Another useful database for this project!

    You'll find reference information, images, journal articles, current social issues, and much more!

     

    Search Encyclopedia Britannica

    Find overview information here.

     

    Recommended Database

    Ferguson 's career  database ithe Occupational Outlook Handbook are your best sources for information on the role of farm/ranch workers in breeding.

    Occupational Outlook Handbook

    Search Google.

    Be sure to include the words agriculture and/or farming in your search terms.  Check for reliable information by asking the following questions.

    1. Who is the author or organization reponsible for this website?  What type of creditionals do they have?
    2. Is the website current?
    3. Is there a list of references included?



     

    Also try this search engine!

    Try Sweet Search - an academic search engine with a good collection of reliable websites.

     

    Help with Citations

     

    Plagiarism_2 The databases above will cite your sources for you.  If you use a website, see the SCHS Library "Cite it Right" page for help, or use a printed source form.

     

    Books in the Library

    Click on the "resource" list entitled Livestock to see which books are available for check-out.

     

    Sample Library Book

    Cover Art
    Raising Livestock - Patrick Catel
    ISBN: 9781432951016
    Publication Date: 2011-07-01

     

    Find ebooks

    Check out the ebooks.  They can be accessed from any internet enabled computer, 24/7.  Just type in your categories plus the term "breeding".  These books are also good sources for pictures.

      

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip