This is the "Home" page of the "Writing about Literature/Mrs. Odom/ENGL 1302 LONE STAR College Essay" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Writing about Literature/Mrs. Odom/ENGL 1302 LONE STAR College Essay  

Research Project Page by Louise Lankau - SCHS Librarian
Last Updated: Apr 3, 2014 URL: http://schs.humbleisd.libguides.com/content.php?pid=295215 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Step I. Choose a topic and develop your research questions.

 

Step II. Create a working bibliograpy based on resources found in the middle section of this project page.

Sample Annotated Bibliography

 

turn it in logo

Monday, February 27th (by midnight)

 

Steps III. & IV. Develop a Thesis Statement & an Outline.

 

New & Improved Outline Template

 

Step V. Preliminary Draft

This includes everthing from Title page to the Works Cited page.

Sample Paper to View

turn it in logo

Monday, March 19th (by midnight)

 

Step VI. Peer Review

Use the rubric,  the Peer Review Questions, and the Research Paper Checklist found in the turnitin.com Peer Review folder. Submit your paper for your class member to review.

turn it in logo

Monday, March 26th (by midnight)

 

Step VII. Revise , Proofread & Submit Final Paper

Get help with revising and proofreading here.

 

turn it in logo

Monday, April 2 (by midnight)

 

SCHS Library Catalog ............................. Lone Star Library Catalog

destinyquest3

Search the SCHS catalog for books by author, title, keyword, or series. Remember that you can borrow books from other Humble ISD libraries if we don't  have the title you need.  A list of literary criticism books has been created for you.  Check the resource list section of Destiny Quest.  

You will find many literature books in the Kingwood College Library. Ebooks are also available.  Filter your search to Kingwood and electronic books to find them.  You will need a Lone Star library card to check out books and also to access databases remotely. You can apply online for a card or go to the library in person. Bring a picture i.d.

Use the Virtual Library Search Widget below. SCHS ebooks will be helpful with biographical information about authors, descriptions of literary periods, and criticism of their works.  These ebooks do not need to be checked out.  They are available to all students (24/7).

Literature Resources eBooks

 

Help using Gale Literary Databases

LitRG_Guided_tour

 
 

Literature Criticism Online

This database brings together 10 of the most acclaimed literary series representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres.

 

Also try...

  • FACTS ON FILE/Bloom's Literary Reference: Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.  This is very user friendly database.
  • Project MUSE (Kingwood College resource)   Full text of 285 journals in literature, history, international/cultural studies and other humanities and social science fields.
  • JSTOR (Kingwood College resource)  Complete historical full text of all issues of journals in a wide range of humanities and social science fields.
  • EBSCO Academic Search Complete
Research databases
Limit Your Results
 

Was this guide helpful?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Need more help?

Profile Image
Ask Mrs. Lankau or Mrs. Smalley or chat with a librarian at Kingwood College
 

Contact Info
Summer Creek Library 7-4:00 M-W 9:00-4 Th.
Kingwood College Library 4-9 Th.
Send Email
 

Student Success Activities

 

Criticism Collection from the Internet Public Library

Google Scholar

 

Academic Search Engine

This is an academic search engine that will produce great results. You won't have to worry about bogus, biased, or unreliable information. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip