1. Original Idea due by Thursday, September 20th
Questions to ask yourself...
- Has my idea been approved by Mrs. Allen?
- Does my topic attempt to answer a particular question or solve some historical problem?
3. Rough Draft Due Friday, January 11th
The rough draft needs to be a complete paper. As close as the 10-12 page mark as possible! We will be using these for peer editing and feedback from the teacher. As part of your FINAL grade, students will have to edit each other's papers. The editing will count for 10% of your grade.
4. Final Draft Due Friday, March 8th
This is the FINAL copy of your 10-12 page paper completed with correct citations and a cover page. You will have followed the correct Chicago style format for the paper and citations. You will be turning in a hard copy to me and one into turnitin.com to check for plagerism.
Books from the SCHS Library - feel free to check them out!
SCHS Library Catalog ............................. Lone Star Library Catalog
Search the SCHS catalog for books by author, title, keyword, or series. Remember that you can borrow books from other Humble ISD libraries if we don't have the title you need.
You will find many history books in the Kingwood College Library. Ebooks are also available. Filter your search to Kingwood and electronic books to find them. You will need a Lone Star library card to check out books and also to access databases remotely. You can apply online for a card or go to the library in person. Bring a picture i.d.
Use the Virtual Library Search Widget below. SCHS ebooks will be helpful with historical topics, such as WWII. These ebooks do not need to be checked out. They are available to all students (24/7).
Use this to get started - especially if you need overview information about your topic.
Try Facts on File "American History Online"
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience. This is a good source for primary source material, as well as secondary sources.
American Women's History Online
Covers the important people, events, legislation, and issues relevant to the study of women’s history in the United States.
African - American History Online
Features thousands of cross-referenced entries, covering the entire spectrum of African-American history over the past 500 years.
Useful Databases for Current Topics
Student Resources in Context
- Project MUSE (Kingwood College resource) Full text of 285 journals in literature, history, international/cultural studies and other humanities and social science fields.
- NBC Higher Learning
JSTOR (Kingwood College resource) Complete historical full text of all issues of journals in a wide range of humanities and social science fields.
- EBSCO Academic Search Complete
Help searching JSTOR
Was this guide helpful?
Ask Mrs. Lankau or Mrs. Smalley
Mrs. Smalley Tues. 4-9 Kingwood College
Mrs. Lankau Th. 4-9 Kingwood College
Student Success Activities
A series of online activities developed by the Kingwood College Librarians. Click on the Content Tab to access the activities.
Help with Citations
Helpful links from Kingwood College Library
Citing Sources Using the Chicago/Turabian Style: Notes System from University Libraries-University of Maryland
Look on page 9 of the sample history paper for the bibliography page. This page will explain formating rules and include sample entries.
Since you will be creating an annotated bibliography in Chicago format, you will also want to look at the more detailed example below.
Sample Annotated Bibliography in Chicago Format from Purdue Writing Lab Scroll all the way to the bottom of the page for the Chicago sample entry.
Academic Search Engine
This is an academic search engine that will produce great results. You won't have to worry about bogus, biased, or unreliable information.