This is the "Home" page of the "Economics Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Economics Resources   Tags: science  

Project Page by Louise Lankau - SCHS Librarian
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2014 URL: http://schs.humbleisd.libguides.com/content.php?pid=384511 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in the SCHS Library

 

Q&A How do I find other useful books in the library?

Check Destiny (online catalog) to see which books our library has on your topic.  Search by subject or keyword for best results. 

  • The power search tab will help you define your searches. 
  • Once you have located the books, remember to use the table of contents, glossary, and index to find the information you need.  The title page will give you the citation information.  You can't beat library books when you are looking for overview information about a topic you don't know much about. 
  • Libraries allow you to search for them in their catalog, or to browse the shelves.
    • Check the social issues special collection for books that will cover many of the economics topics.
  • Most books can be checked out so that you can study the information at your leisure.
  • Libraries also have reference books that might not be available online.
  • Personal attention from a librarian can  be a great asset when searching for hard to find information.
    • If not available at the SCHS library, your librarians can help you borrow books from other Humble ISD libraries.
    • They are happy to help you find the information within the books you choose, or send you to other helpful resources
 

Q&A What if the books are already checked out from the library?

Try our ebooks!  They are available 24/7 to all SCHS students.

Search for your economics topic in the Virtual Library Widget box below.  Be sure to ask the librarians for the user name and password when using from home.

 

Q&A What are subscription databases?

 The library recommends subscription online databases because they are a collection of reliable resources such as...

  • respected magazines and newspapers
  • scholarly journals
  • books
  • newswire services
  • image and video libraries

Start with Britannica Online.  Find background as well as in-depth information about your topic. Remember to look for the video and image libraries, links to journal articles and recommended websites

Search for your topic...

 

Q&A What kinds of information can I expect to find in EBSCO, Opposing Viewpoints and Student Resource Center?

There are actually thirty-five different subject databases within EBSCO HOST.  The best one for you to use is Academic Search Complete because it covers all subjects. It is very important to R.A.T.S. (read all the screen) to get the most out of this amazing resource, as well as other library databases. 

Check out the Library "RAT"  mousemotorcycle on the Motorcycle"to see what these search options are!

 

 

Try a practice search with your economics topic.

Fill out the activity sheet explaining how you found your information.

Research databases
Limit Your Results
 

Q&A I used Opposing Viewpoints in other classes at SCHS. Is it useful for Economics class?

Absolutely!  In fact, it would be one of your best choices because it gives you both sides of an issue.  Most of your
Economics topics are current, so Opposing Viewpoints is a great online choice. 

 

Q&A What is special about Student Resources in Context?

You'll find reference information, journal articles, current social issues, and much more!

 

Q&A Will I find reliable information using internet websites?

Of course you will!  Try Sweet Search - an academic search engine with a good collection of reliable websites.  You can access Google from Sweet Search, if you need more information. 

Q&A Why CAN'T I use and cite Wikipedia for this project?

 

Q&A Where can I get help with citations?

 Download your assignment paper at this link.  Look for ...

AP Economics Research Paper (Due Date 11/26/12)

Plagiarism_2 Consult the SCHS Library "Cite it Right"  for help with APA citations.  Check links below for for help.

 

 

 

 

 

Did you like this guide?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip