This is the "Home" page of the "Research Homepage" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Homepage  

Click on subject tabs below to find your project page. The sample project page below shows you what types of information you can expect to find on specific library research guides.
Last Updated: Nov 21, 2017 URL: http://schs.humbleisd.libguides.com/englishresearchprojects Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Librarians

Profile Image
Mrs. Lankau, Mrs. Smalley, Mrs. Rodriguez (not pictured)
 

WHAT ARE PROJECT PAGES?

Project pages for research are developed to help students find reliable resources for specific assignments in all subjects taught at Summer Creek High School. These pages are designed by the SCHS librarians, based on the assignment requirements of your teachers. 

The pages contain some or all of the following elements...

  1. The assignment guidelines for you to download and print
  2. Recommended books to use for your information (books to check out as well as ebooks to access from any computer)
  3. Links to the best informational databases for your topics
  4. Links to reliable websites
  5. Search engine widgets for you to use as you search for more information
  6. Movies, slideshows, podcasts, etc. that highlight project quidelines
 

Finding Research Books in the Library

Search for your topic in Destiny Online Catalog. Look for resource lists created by the librarians.

 

eBooks (Read on your computer or download to your ereader.

There are thundreds of ebooks in the Gale Virtual Reference Library. Use the search widget below to search for specific topics.

 

Reliable Online Information

highlight_databases

Research databases are collections of reliable information from authoritative sources.  You will find articles from books, magazines, newspapers, journals, primary sources, even image and video libraries.  All these sources are already cited for you.  Search the  the most popular databases listed  here.

Scroll down for general databases on all subjects.  

Click here for a subject guide to specific subjects: science, geography, history, literature, technology, psychology, etc.  Database discriptions are included.  

 

General Encyclopedia

 

Popular Databases

Evaluating Websites

 

Sweet Search

This is an academic search engine that will produce great results. You won't have to worry about bogus, biased, or unreliable information. 

 

Help with Citations

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip